Statement of Ethics

As a photographer I pledge to work in an ethical manner. This includes

  • I will act with integrity, empathy and compassion
  • My sitters will understand why I am there, why I am taking photographs and how those photographs will be used.
  • If my sitter is not able to give fully informed consent (for example my work with Our Dementia Choir), then I ensure that the main guardian/carer of the sitter is fully informed and gives consent.
  • Consent can be withdrawn by the sitter at any time and will be honoured.
  • I believe in “a leave no trace” policy when working in the natural environment.
  • In order to reduce my environmental footprint, I endeavour to purchase pre-used equipment, re-sell or donate equipment and books I no longer need, or hire equipment if this is a short term requirement.

Ethics are an organic thing, and as I grow as a photographer and experience different things, so my ethics will alter and this statement may change.